Clinical Investigator Awards

In 2007, SSO established a new Clinical Investigator Award (CIA) program with the goal of promoting patient-oriented research through the training of surgical oncologists in clinical and translational science.

Beginning with the 2013-2015 awards cycle, the administration and management of the CIA program has moved under the auspices of the James Ewing Foundation of the Society of Surgical Oncology, including the solicitation of the CIA grant funding and support.

Applicants must be surgical oncologists within 10 years of completion of training and be full SSO members for at least 6 months prior to application submission to be eligible for the award.

2016-2018 Clinical Investigator Awards Call for Proposals 

For 2016-2018, the SSO will name two Clinical Investigator Awards winners. The first, the current Clinical Investigator award, is designated for disease-specific research (e.g., breast cancer). In addition, thanks to a grant from Amgen, the SSO will make a melanoma-specific award.

The awards criteria are identical to the general CIA criteria, as is the application process. The DUE DATE for both award applications is January 4, 2016. 

Awards Criteria and Application Process

Frequently Asked Questions

JUST AWARDED - 2015-2017 Clinical Investigator Award

Previous Recipients

2014 Clinical Investigator Award recipients

2013 Clinical Investigator Award recipients

2012 Clinical Investigator Award recipients

2011 Clinical Investigator Award recipients

Susan G. Komen for the Cure® funded CIA recipients

All Clinical Investigator Award recipients