Clinical Investigator Awards

In 2007, SSO established a new Clinical Investigator Award (CIA) program with the goal of promoting patient-oriented research through the training of surgical oncologists in clinical and translational science.

Beginning with the 2013-2015 awards cycle, the administration and management of the CIA program has moved under the auspices of the James Ewing Foundation of the Society of Surgical Oncology, including the solicitation of the CIA grant funding and support.

Applicants must be surgical oncologists within 10 years of completion of training and be full SSO members for at least 6 months prior to application submission to be eligible for the award.

See Answers to Frequently Asked Questions Here.

2014 Call for Proposals - Now Closed

JUST AWARDED - 2014 Spring Clinical Investigator Award

Due to funding, a 2014 Fall Clinical Investigator Award research grant will not be awarded in October. We apologize for any inconvenience and will let you know if this should change.

Previous Recipients

2013 Clinical Investigator Award recipients

2012 Clinical Investigator Award recipients

2011 Clinical Investigator Award recipients

Susan G. Komen for the Cure® funded CIA recipients

All Clinical Investigator Award recipients