For the Press

Society of Surgical Oncology Names Lisa C. Paulsen of Los Angeles, California, Recipient of its 2012 James Ewing Layman's Award

Author: Curt Mattson
Mar 13, 2012

The SSO Recognizes Ms. Paulsen for Her Leadership of the Entertainment Industry Foundation, Including Her Efforts in the Creation of the “Stand Up To Cancer” Initiative

Arlington Heights, IL – The Society of Surgical Oncology (SSO) and its James Ewing Foundation will recognize the efforts of Stand Up to Cancer’s co-creator Lisa C. Paulsen toward eradicating cancer by presenting her the SSO’s 2012 James Ewing Layman’s Award at the Society’s Annual Cancer Symposium in Orlando, Florida on March 23.

The James Ewing Layman’s Award is presented annually and is intended to thank and honor non-physicians for their work in support of public awareness, patient resources, or clinical or research efforts in the prevention or cure of cancer.

Lisa Paulsen is President and Chief Executive Officer of the Entertainment Industry Foundation (EIF), a national philanthropic organization of the TV and film industry, founded in 1942. Under Paulsen’s leadership, EIF’s charitable budget has grown from $1.8 million to more than $160 million per year. She has recruited senior executives from all the major studios, networks, unions, guilds, and agencies as board members, and has enlisted celebrated actors as volunteers. The EIF funds efforts in science and medicine, education, the environment, poverty, and other societal concerns.

In 2008, EIF was a co-creator of the Stand Up To Cancer (SU2C) initiative. Since then, more than $180 million has been pledged to SU2C for research. SU2C has awarded six three-year grants to multi-institutional, multi-disciplinary research teams and has given “Innovative Research Grants” to 26 individual young scientists for “high-risk, potentially high-reward” research rarely funded by other sources.

Founded in 1970 by the Society of Surgical Oncology, the primary focus of the James Ewing Foundation is the support of education and research in surgical oncology. The Foundation is a not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to advancing Dr. Ewing's legacy as a researcher and clinician. Past recipients of the James Ewing Layman’s Award have included Sanford L. Weill; Mary Lasker; Laurance Rockefeller; Armand Hammer; Evelyn Lauder; Anne and Donna Gioia; Lt. Governor John C. Carney, Jr.; Paula Kim; Nancy Brinker; Don and Deidre Imus; Sec. HHS Tommy G. Thompson; and Hamilton Jordan.

Founded in 1940, the mission of the Society of Surgical Oncology is to improve patient care by advancing the science and practice of surgical oncology worldwide. The Society is a 2,800 member organization for surgeons and health care providers dedicated to advancing and promoting the science and treatment of cancer.

SSO Phone Numbers:
847-427-1400 (Voice)
847-427-9656 (Fax)

SSO Mailing Address:
Society of Surgical Oncology
85 W. Algonquin Rd., Suite 550
Arlington Heights, IL 60005