Surgical Oncology News

This section features a sampling of news related to surgical oncology from the popular press, from press releases received, or SSO news directly pertinent to SSO members.

2015-16 Nominating Slate Approved

Author: SSO Staff
Dec 21, 2014

The Nominating Committee met on Saturday, October 26, 2014, to consider candidates for nomination at the 2015 Annual Business Meeting, taking place on Saturday, March 28, at SSO 2015 in Houston, Texas. Their decision was based on input solicited from the Executive Council, as well as all SSO Past Presidents.

The decision for Nominating Committee candidates was also based on input solicited from the Executive Council, as well as from the SSO general membership. 

During the meeting, the Committee slated the following candidates to replace those Officers and Councilors whose terms will expire:

Daniel Coit, MD, New York, NY

Vice President
Kelly McMasters, MD, PhD, Louisville, KY

Executive Council (2)   
Russell Berman, MD, New York, NY
Elin Sigurdson, MD, PhD, Philadelphia, PA

International Representative on Executive Council
Hector Martinez-Said, MD, Mexico City, Mexico

Councillor-at-Large* (1)  
Julie Margenthaler, MD, St. Louis, MO
Elizabeth Mittendorf, MD, PhD, Houston, TX

Community-based Surgical Oncologist* (1)
Diana Dickson-Witmer, MD, Newark, DE
Lawrence Wagman, MD, Orange, CA

International Surgical Oncologist* (1)
Masaki Mori, MD, PhD, Suita, Japan
Isabel Rubio, MD, Barcelona, Spain

Undesignated Active Member* (1)
Michael Choti, MD, Dallas, TX
Carmen Solorzano, MD, Nashville, TN

* Please note that the Nominating Committee positions and the Councillor-at-Large position are selected through an e-ballot of the general membership.

The Executive Council approved the 2015 slate of nominees as presented.