Additional Abstract-Related Award Recipients

Dr. Thomas K. Weber Colorectal Cancer Research Scholar Award

Each year, the Colon Cancer Challenge Foundation (CCCF) awards a $2,000 grant to provide travel support for a postdoctoral surgical oncology trainee whose paper is accepted for presentation at the SSO Cancer Forum held during the SSO Annual Cancer Symposium. The paper must be primarily focused on colorectal cancer.

2020: Ten Year Survival After Pathologic Complete Response in Rectal Adenocarcinoma, Naomi Sell, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA

2019: Oral Paper 43: Spatial Characterization of the Metastatic Colon Cancer Immune Microenvironment Identifies Potential Candidates for Immunotherapy, Jenny Lazarus, MD, University of Michigan

2017: Oral Paper 50: Anti-KRAS siRNA Nanoparticles for Targeted Colorectal Cancer Therapy, Bradley A. Krasnick, MD, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, MO

2016: Oral Paper 83: Race-Based Socioeconomic and Treatment Disparities in Adolescent and Young Adults with Stage II-III Rectal Cancer, David Y. Lee, MD, John Wayne Cancer Institute, Los Angeles, CA

2015: Poster P143: Genetic Analysis of Colorectal Cancers in Young Patients, Andrea Abbott, MD, MS, H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center, Tampa, FL

2014: Oral Paper 18: Isolated Tumor Cells are a Negative Prognostic Factor in Disease-free and Overall Survival in Stage I & II Colon Cancer Patients: A Propensity Score Analysis, Benjamin Weixler, MD, Department of Surgery, University Hospital, Basel, Switzerland

2013: Oral Paper 17: Downregulation of Intercellular Adhesion Molecule-1 (ICAM-1) Abrogates Hepatic Metastases in Murine Colon Adenocarcinoma, Karen K. Lo, MD, University of Colorado, Aurora, CO

2012: Oral Paper 49: KRAS Codon 13 Mutations Predict Response to Neoadjuvant Chemoradiation Therapy in Patients with Rectal Adenocarcinoma, Marjun Philip Duldulao, MD, City of Hope, Duarte, CA

2011: Oral Paper 69: Differential Expression of Colon Cancer Associated Transcript-1 (CCAT1) in the Adenoma-Carcinoma Sequence of the Colon and Rectum, Bilal Alaiyan, MD, Hadassah-Hebrew University Medical Center Mount Scopus, Jerusalem, Israel

Susan G. Komen® Breast Cancer Research Award

The SSO, in partnership with Susan G. Komen®, developed this award in 2015 to recognize excellence in research focused on breast cancer.  The award will be made annually to a postdoctoral breast fellow or newly-trained surgical oncologist interested in breast cancer research whose work is being presented at the SSO Annual Cancer Symposium.

2017: Oral Paper 8: CPS+EG and Neo-Bioscore are Superior Predictors of Overall Survival After Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy for Breast Cancer: A National Cancer Data Base Validation Study, John R. Bergquist, MD, MS, MA, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN

: Oral Paper 20: National Trends in the Use of Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy and Impact on Breast and Axillary Surgery in Hormone Receptor Negative Breast Cancer: A National Cancer Data Base Study, Carlos A. Puig, MD, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN

: Oral Paper 28: Prognostic Value of Combined Clinical and Pathologic Staging Variables in Predicting Local-Regional Recurrence Following Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy in Breast Cancer, Mediget Teshome, MD, MPH, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX

Scroll to Top